CPI Announces Candidates for Kerala Lok Sabha Elections 2024

Pannyan Ravindran Targets Thiruvananthapuram; Annie Raja Challenges Rahul in Wayanad; VS Sunilkumar Joins Triangular Contest in Thrissur; C.A. Arun Kumar Nominated for Mavelikara

Thiruvananthapuram: The Communist Party of India (CPI) has officially announced its candidates contesting four Lok Sabha seats in Kerala. CPI State Secretary Benoy Vishwa revealed the candidates at a Thiruvananthapuram press conference following a leadership meeting. The CPI state council approved after thorough deliberations on the selections.

Senior leader Pannyan Ravindran will contest in Thiruvananthapuram. CA Arun Kumar will run in Mavelikkara despite some district-level objections. After assessing the overall situation, Arun Kumar prevailed as the state leadership’s choice.

In Mavelikkara, CPI district units in Alappuzha, Kottayam and Kollam proposed eight names, including Deputy Speaker Chittayam Gopakumar. However, only the Alappuzha District Council backed Arun Kumar’s candidacy. On the other hand, Kollam and Kottayam district councils criticized Arun Kumar’s selection without broader discussion among party components. However, the CPI state executive committee carefully weighed the options and arguments before decisively finalizing Arun Kumar’s candidacy.

The CPI candidate announcements clarify the broader Left Front’s electoral landscape across Kerala. With candidates now confirmed, the CPI and partners can move into rapid, focused propagation of their messages and campaigns. Fierce triangular contests are expected in Thrissur between sitting Congress MP TN Prathapan, BJP upstart Suresh Gopi and CPI’s VS Sunil Kumar. Seasoned but fresh CPI candidates must actively court youth votes and highlight the party’s contributions.

In Wayanad, Congress is widely expected to field heavyweight leader Rahul Gandhi against CPI’s Annie Raja, a prominent national female leader and activist. Annie Raja’s candidacy against Rahul Gandhi will draw national interest and coverage. Meanwhile, the regional party Kerala Congress has selected Thomas Chazhikkadan to run in Kottayam. He will face tough competition from left rivals.

CPM State Secretary MV Govindan previously confirmed his party’s candidates will also be announced soon. CPM is contesting 15 seats and already has several contenders actively campaigning. For example, Thomas Isaac began efforts in Pathanamthitta, and KJ Shine similarly started early in Ernakulam.

Other expected CPM candidates include MV Jayarajan in Kannur, KK Shailaja in Vadakara and V Joy in Attingal. The CPI presentations blend experienced yet novel options to challenge significant opponents in the left faction slates.

CPI Candidates:

Annie Raja

The national executive member of CPI heads the National Federation of Indian Women. She has engaged in major national interventions on policy issues impacting women. Her high-profile candidacy against Rahul Gandhi in Wayanad will draw nationwide curiosity.

Pannyan Ravindran

The former CPI State Secretary now serves on the party’s national secretariat. He brings extensive experience, having previously represented Thiruvananthapuram in Parliament and led the state’s youth as an AISF leader earlier in his career. His hometown credibility and familiarity with the constituency will aid his campaign.

VS Sunil Kumar

The former minister and MLA began his political activism early with the All India Students Federation during high school. He became AISF’s National Secretary in 1998 after state and national roles. His educational background includes degrees from Kerala Verma College and Kerala Law Academy.

Arun Kumar

The CPI Alappuzha District Council member also serves on the AIF State Committee. He leverages additional experience as the Assistant Private Secretary to a CPI minister. His blend of state organizational knowledge and policy experience aims to attract voters.

The CPI slate offers local roots, diverse experiences, and ideological commitment from rising and established voices. They aim to mount spirited issue-based challenges against opponents across Kerala’s constituencies in the upcoming Parliamentary elections.

The Communist Party of India has put forward an intriguing mix of candidates for Kerala’s upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Blending youthful energy with veteran expertise, the party hopes to make an impact in key contests. All eyes will be on national female leader Annie Raja as she takes on Congress’ Rahul Gandhi in Wayanad. Meanwhile, former State Secretary Pannyan Ravindran leverages his parliamentary experience in Thiruvananthapuram against formidable opponents. While objections arose in selecting CA Arun Kumar for Mavelikkara, the state leadership sees his well-rounded background as an asset. Along with VS Sunil Kumar in Thrissur, the CPI slate aims to offer voters commitment on issues like job creation and social welfare. As campaigning accelerates across Kerala, the party faithful believe a balanced candidate list could make the CPI a significant force on the fierce electoral battlefield.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is a seasoned Political Journalist with a deep passion for Indian Politics. With over a decade of experience in the field, he has established himself as a trusted… More »

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button