Anticipation Builds: 18th Lok Sabha Election Announcement Tomorrow

Expectations for Voting and Counting Dates, Amidst Election Fever

New Delhi: Election date declaration for the 18th Lok Sabha election will be tomorrow. The crucial announcement by the Election Commission of India will unveil the general election schedule and reveal the dates for voting and counting votes in various states. The announcement is scheduled for 3 p.m. on Thursday.

With this announcement, the Model Code of Conduct will come into force. This code governs the conduct of political parties and candidates during elections. Assembly elections in Jammu and Kashmir are also likely to happen simultaneously.

The newly appointed Election Commissioners, Ganesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, attended the meeting and decided on election dates. Apart from Lok Sabha polls, the Commission will declare dates for assembly elections. These include elections in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, and Odisha. However, only the possibility of holding elections in Jammu and Kashmir is being discussed now.

New Government expected in June

Indications suggest the election procedures will end by May, and a new government could then take office in June. The 2019 Lok Sabha elections happened in seven phases. This time, 96 crore 88 lakh voters will register their votes nationwide. All preparations for this massive exercise are reported as complete.

Before the announcement, the Chief Election Commissioner visited states to assess preparedness for Lok Sabha elections. The decision to declare the dates was based on this assessment’s completion. The Commission has announced two new Commissioners assuming charges, signaling readiness for polls. The last Lok Sabha poll dates were out on March 10, 2019. Voting then took place from April 11 to May 11 in seven phases. Lok Sabha’s tenure ends on June 16.

Multiple polling phases are expected this time, too. This conveys a message of gradually progressing towards peace nationwide. The Commission will closely examine all election aspects. The whole process is likely to be completed by May 15.

In the last polls, the BJP won 303 seats, while the NDA alliance formed the government with 353 seats. This time, the BJP has already announced 250 candidates before the official dates, while the Congress has named 82 candidates so far. PM Modi is expected to contest from Varanasi again, while Rahul Gandhi may contest from Wayanad.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is a seasoned Political Journalist with a deep passion for Indian Politics. With over a decade of experience in the field, he has established himself as a trusted… More »

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button